Food for thought

Of the five original members of Guns n’ Roses, Izzy was the only one to graduate high school. I don’t know how good of a student he was, but school definitely wasn’t his main interest as he hightailed it out of Lafayette soon thereafter.

Slash and Steven attended junior high together before they dropped out together to do drugs and do chicks. They made a few infrequent appearances at high school, but drugs, girls, and jamming still won out in the end.

Duff dropped out of high school at 16 to work a job in a restaurant which helped support him as he lived on his own and played in various punk bands in Seattle.

Axl dropped out of high school at 17 to… go to the library to study subjects that interested him and to compose music on his piano at home (anybody ever heard of a little number called “November Rain”?). Not that he didn’t get into his fair share of trouble, but the library is definitely not the path most dropouts would have taken.

All about a book and its cover, people, a book and its cover.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

I thought I should make a brief mention of why this blog is all text. I could easily pepper it with photos of Axl and the band that I find online, but that’s the thing — I don’t personally own any of those pictures, so using them with the implication that they’re mine violates all kinds of copyright and conscience issues. Besides, if anyone wants to see pictures of Axl, you have the same resources that I do (hello, Google).

In other news, I realize that quite a bit of time can pass between posts here perhaps leaving people to wonder if I’ve abandoned my little project. On the contrary, I’m continuing to read and gather information. I hesitate to post anything until I feel that I’ve done sufficient research on the topic and can identify sources when necessary. (In my above mini-post, I did not cite sources because all of that information came from several snippets in different interviews or books and citing it all would have probably been longer than the post itself.)  I am working on things, even if it doesn’t always seem like it. Future posts will include: Slash t-shirts at the nuGuns concerts, the St. Louis Riot of 1991, and taking a closer look at Axl’s anger and infamous tardiness.

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Food for thought

  1. Christina Garcia says:

    Izzy graduated with a D average

  2. Susana Canales says:

    Lol I hear izzy passed with a D average, duff was an honors student. Axl did? lol sounds like him. I wish I could do that with school, study whatever it is I’m interested in instead of what the school wants me to study. They’re all such interesting characters. I wish I could be friends with them! Lol

Leave a Reply

